rather broad form and then look more particularly at Vatican II and the newer Roman structure in a later note. It is important to see that the Roman church has gone through three distinct development phases...the pre-reformation church, the church as molded by the council of Trent, and the modern church as developed since Vatican II. The differences are not so much in doctrine as in formalization and some areas of practice but they are very pronounced and any student of the history of this age must recognize and be prepared to deal with them.

The popes of this general period are these:

Pius X 1903-1914
Benedict XV 1914-1922
Pius XI, 1922-1939
Pius XII, 1939-1958
John XXIII, 1958-1963
Paul VI, 1963-1978
John Paul I, 1978
John Paul II, 1978

The length of pontificate for some of these popes is surprisingly long. John Paul I, however, ruled for just about a month and David Wallop in the book IN GOD'S NAME argues that he was assasinated. I think it is not necessary that anyone know them by name and order (unless one is bucking for advancement in the Roman church) but for reference it is good to see them in one spot.

Within the general framework of the Roman church a number of modifications have been seen and we may note these:

acceptance of modernism and the recognition of theological pluralism...and the Romand church is not happy about either. It still tries to hold modernism in check but has not been successful. Its admission of pluralism is rather tacit but following John XXIII's use of the term "separated brethren" to denote protestant schismatics, it has not been able to avoid the consequence. To say Rome admits it does not mean it condones, approves, or develops it. But the language of moderation has made this admission necessary.